Sunday Steals: Femslash February!

Due to the nature of today’s topic this post should be considered somewhere around 18+ only. Honestly I just don’t know what the real cut-off is but if you’re under 18 and don’t read fanfiction or don’t know what slash fic is then you probably shouldn’t read this. Also, just assume that every link today is going to be Not Safe For Work. Got it? Sweet.

I’m a really big fan of fanfiction. True, I’m not as avid a consumer as some of my friends but I’m an enthusiastic supporter of the art. My view of fanfic is that it makes the art of writing more accessible and that’s fucking awesome. You don’t need to be a prize winning author to write fanfic, hell, you don’t even have to be a great writer to write fanfic. The fanfic communities seem to be based around the idea that anyone who wants to write can write.

Yeah, you’re going to deal with some really stupid trolls who think it’s a grand old time to be a fucking big dickhead and write cruel comments when they don’t like the story. So yes, those assholes do exist but they do seem to be in the minority and most fanfic communities I’ve come across online have been more positive than negative (Disagree with me? Please leave a comment, I’d really like to hear your thoughts on this.)

My previous post on how much I value erotic Harry Potter fanfic probably has already tipped you off that I like my fanfic like I like my chicken pot pies: steaming hot and full of floating hunks of flesh. On average I probably read more male-on-male (m/m) fanfic than male-on-female (m/f) or female-on-female (f/f) but I recently came across a Tumblr post that made me consider if maybe that’s not just my personal preference. What if I read mostly m/m fics because there are significantly more fics of this type than any other? Homosexual love and sex does seem to be a current fetish among the producers of fanfic so that might explain the imbalance. Then again, it might not. I don’t know. I haven’t actually done any studies…

The post I read was this one from soaringrachel on Tumblr. If you’re too lazy to click that link then let me break it down for you: soaringrachel basically asks the very important question, “Where are the girls?” Since we humans love alliteration she calls for Femslash February, a month where fanfic writers focus on f/f stories! I love this idea and would like to provide some links to femslash topics:

  • soaringrachel put together the #FemslashFebruary tag on Tumblr where Tumblr folks can pool their resources
  • Mephistophilis created a nice list of links but because I can’t get their list to show up when I’m on the blog I’m linking you to where I saw it: LGBT Laughs. Some of the links are to femslash collections and others are to posts like this one, calling for Black Women femslash!
  • I’m a big fan of Hermione/Ginny femslash. Like a really big fan… I think I might like it better than Hermione/Ron… Here’s the H/G LiveJournal community and the H/G Archive of Our Own page.
  • Alright, so I don’t really have a lot of links to post but I mostly want fanfic people to get into Femslash February.

Leave some femslash links in the comment section? Please.

Note Bene: Sunday Steals is my semi-weekly series where I pick a theme and post links to other people’s stuff. Want to suggest a topic? Leave a comment or e-mail me at HypatiaOfVermont@gmail.com.

Leave a comment