Well, It Started as a “Crumb Top Coffee Cake”

Body achy? Yup.

Tired? Exhausted.

Short tempered? Hoo boy.

Reclusive? Piss off.

Looks like my depression is flaring up after a good two weeks or so of keeping it at bay. Time to bake a fucking cake.

My cupboard isn’t overflowing with supplies and my cookbooks were accidentally left behind in my move fifteen days ago but here comes Supercook.com to the rescue! Discovering that there’s a website where you put in your ingredients and it generates a list of recipes that only need those ingredients was a beautiful moment in my culinary-internet life. Still curled up in bed under my quilt I tell Supercook that I’ve got baking powder, baking soda, brown sugar, butter, cinnamon, eggs, flour, milk, molasses, nutmeg, peanut butter, sugar and vanilla. After then telling it that I’d like a cake recipe, particularly a crumb cake, a list of six crumb cake recipes collected from various websites is provided.

I ended up using Food.com’s “Crumb Top Coffee Cake” but once I realized that  I just wanted to dump everything into my Bundt pan and screw the whole crumb top I began to deviate from the recipe. And by deviate I mean dump in a bunch of spices without measuring them. Cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg and ginger (my go-to cake spices) all ended up in the cake batter and were followed by generous amounts of vanilla and lemon extract. In retrospect I do wish I’d cut back on the flour and added a second egg just to compensate for the fact that I didn’t set aside half the mixture for the topping.

That being said I am fairly pleased with the resulting cake. Sure, the edges are a bit, mmm, crispier than I’d like but it’s so light and fluffy and I can’t wait to toast a slice and put some butter on this. Also, considering the fact that I didn’t measure my spices I am in awe of the fact that it’s tasty and doesn’t taste like ginger vomit. I’d recommend pairing this cake with a big ol’ mug of sweet tulsi tea sweetened with some honey. Why that pairing? I dunno, that’s what I was drinking when I was eating.

One day I'll have a camera that isn't shit. Or maybe I'll learn proper lighting. Ha!

One day I’ll have a camera that isn’t shit. Or maybe I’ll learn proper lighting. Ha!

Leave a Reply

